Home > Events > Dwolla, WebFilings lead Iowa tech awards as finalists in seven categories

Dwolla, WebFilings lead Iowa tech awards as finalists in seven categories

Dwolla takes home the Technology Company of the Year award at last year’s Prometheus Awrads.

Dwolla and WebFilings could make a repeat performance in April as both Iowa startups have been named finalists for the awards they took home at last year’s Technology Association of Iowa‘s Prometheus Awards. On top of earning recognition in the Technology Company of the Year categories – small/medium business and large/enterprise business, respectively – the two combined for appearances in nearly half of this year’s 16 categories.

On Monday, the Iowa nonprofit dedicated to the state’s technology industry announced the 47 companies and individuals that will be vying for one of its award trophies April 9. The event, now its eighth year, aims to recognize achievements in technology and innovation.

This year, 98 nominations were submitted across the award categories, representing one of the event’s most competitive pools yet, according to the organization’s press release.

The awards ceremony, part of the organization’s “TriTechTa” event series, is April 9 at Veterans Memorial Auditorium in Des Moines. More information and tickets ($100 for non-TAI members, $89 for TAI members) can be found at technologyiowa.org.

Applications to participate in the i2iowa investor and innovator forum, one of the “TriTechTa” events, close Feb. 28.

2013 Prometheus Award Finalists

Categories featuring startups

Software Company of the Year (Small/Medium): Dwolla, Santos Human and Spinutech

Software Company of the Year (Large/Enterprise): RINAlliance and WebFilings

Top Growth Company of the Year: Appcore, Caleris, Dwolla, Involta, MediRevv and WebFilings

Mobile App of the Year: BettrLife, Higher Learning Technologies, Hy-Vee and Wellmark Care Finder App

CEO of the Year: Dennis Henderson (Ready Wireless), Chris Klitgaard (MediRevv), Bruce Lehrman (Involta), Ben Milne (Dwolla) and Brian Patrick Donaghy (Appcore)

Student Innovation of the Year: clusterFlunkFarm Manuals Fast and TranslaCare, Inc.

Break Out Award: Appcore, DomiKnow, Dwolla, Legosys Solutions and VIDA Diagnostics

Outstanding Startup Company of the Year: DomiKnowIDxLegosys Solutions and Prositions, Inc.

Technology Company of the Year (Small/Medium): AppcoreCircle Computer ResourcesDwolla and VIDA Diagnostics

Technology Company of the Year (Large/Enterprise): Involta, John Deere Intelligent Solutions Group and WebFilings

Other categories

IT Service Provider of the Year: Circle Computer Resources, Involta, Paragon IT Professionals and Sogeti

Clean Energy Innovation: CQM Systems, Hy-Vee and RINAlliance

Best User of Technology: Hy-Vee, Iowa State Association of Counties, John Deere Intelligent Solutions Group, Nationwide App Development Center and Quester

Innovation in Teaching: Dallas Center Grimes – Ben Chadwick, East Buchanan – Mark Nall, Electronic Crime Institute at DMACC, St. Ambrose University and UNI Interactive Digital Studies

CIO/CTO/CSO of the Year: Lane Arthur (DuPont Pioneer), Darren Baty (Hy-Vee) and Dennis Mehmen (Grinnell Mutual Reinsurance)

Life Sciences Company of the Year: Harrisvaccines, IDx, MedCara Pharmaceuticals, Terpenoid Therapeutics and Trans Ova Genetics


For more on the Prometheus Awards, see the video below from last year’s ceremony.


Notes: Silicon Prairie News is a media sponsor of the Prometheus Awards.

Credits: Photo from Technology Association of Iowa on Facebook. Video from 

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)