Pipeline announces entrepreneurial award winners and 2019 Fellows


The Pipeline entrepreneurial fellowship program revealed the recipients of its 2018 Pipeline awards on Friday night and also unveiled its 2019 class of Pipeline Fellows at The Innovators event, held for the first time in Omaha.

In the 12 years since Pipeline’s founding, the program for high-performing entrepreneurs has grown to be one of the largest entrepreneurial programs and networks in the Midwest.

“We hear the word ‘family’ thrown around on TV commercials and in business, but we here at Pipeline don’t treat this work lightly,” said Joni Cobb, Pipeline President and CEO, on stage at the event. “We feel we formed an unparalleled level of intimacy during these last 12 years.”

The event drew a large crowd and was attended by 2018 fellows, investors, mentors, supporters, family and many others from around the Silicon Prairie.

Through Pipeline, entrepreneurs invest in their own professional development, and also give generously of their time, talent and capital to enable them to build global businesses from wherever they choose. Pipeline takes zero equity in Member companies, focusing on the entrepreneur first.

2019 Pipeline Award Winners

Entrepreneurial Legacy Award – Jim Linder (Nebraska Medicine)
Pipeline Entrepreneur (Member) Growth – Paul Jarrett (Bulu, Lincoln, NE)
Pipeline Entrepreneur (Member) Inspiration – Brian Handrigan (Advocado, St. Louis) and Aaron McKee (Purple Wave Auction, Manhattan, KS)
Innovator of the Year – Andrew Barnell (Geneoscopy, St. Louis)

“It was extremely gratifying to see the entire Pipeline family gather for The Innovators for the first time in Nebraska,” said Jim Linder, CEO of Nebraska Medicine. “We are proud of what all Nebraskans have been able to bring to Pipeline and grateful for the impact Pipeline has made in our community, and the inspiration it provides to local and regional entrepreneurship. I am sure that the best is yet to come.”

Pipeline Fellows are chosen for the program following an intensive application and interview process. The 2019 class is comprised of 13 entrepreneurs from five cities in the three states.

“It has been exciting to play a small role in both listening and judging the outgoing class of Fellows while also learning so much about the entire Family of entrepreneurs at Pipeline,” said Elizabeth Yin, Co-Founder of Hustle Fund, San Francisco. “One of the reasons I come to the Midwest to invest in startups is that I’ve noticed that top entrepreneurs here are all building great, lasting entities that are solving real problems. So, I can’t wait to see how this group of entrepreneurs will change our future for the better.”

2019 Pipeline Fellows

Bek Abdullayev, Super Dispatch, Kansas City
Anis Dayya, PiREARcings, Kansas City
Jeff Dunn, Redivus Health, Kansas City
Liderman Duin, Bluepoint2, Kansas City
Michael Fry, Astra Brands, Kansas City
Donald Hawkins, CitySmart, Kansas City
Ramsey Jamoul, Midwest eSports, Wichita
William Payne, Simple Vet Solutions, Omaha
Heather Spalding, Cambrian, Kansas City
Spencer Toder, Atrial Innovations, St. Louis
Tammie Wahaus, ELIAS Animal Health, Kansas City
Steven Werner, Lawn Buddy, Wichita
Lizz Whitacre, Pawlytics, Lincoln


Sign up to receive daily updates in your inbox.